Spotted at The American Street:
Weirdness
It looks like http://www.discourse.net has been hijacked. I wonder if Michael knows.
Now, I doubt that Kevin is playing a prank here, so presumably he’s really seen something. But I have no idea what it is, my site looks normal from here, and thus I have no idea what the problem might be (cache poisoning somewhere? a 302 exploit? ) or what I can do about it.
Update: Kevin amended his post, and we exchanged emails. For the reason described in the comments, the problem is solved (Kevin seemed to have inherited a spammer’s IP number, which I had redirected).
looks just fine from here.
Posted by: Ben Hyde at April 17, 2005 12:04 PMI saw that too, and immediately checked. The site came up just as it should have. My money's on cache poisoning at Kevin's end.
Posted by: Ed Bott at April 17, 2005 02:13 PMWhat I see is a small picture of a person in yellow asian garb standing in front of the Eiffel Tower, in the left upper corner, near where the top post starts; it only lasts for a couple of seconds when you get to the site. I use ie and verizon, dunno if that tells you anything.
Posted by: reader at April 17, 2005 02:57 PMOops, it's a pict from a post, couple of posts down. Sorry.
Posted by: reader at April 17, 2005 03:02 PMOk. Thanks to email from Kevin I know more about what happened: he got redirected to digicrime, a website with which I have a connection.
I have a list of banned IP numbers used repeatedly by spammers. Currently these get redirected to digicrime. Kevin must have acquired a number formerly used by a spammer.
Which means I should probably send the redirect somewhere else, which explains what's up. Maybe it's time to create errors.discourse.net or something....
Posted by: michael at April 17, 2005 03:19 PMhey, who changed Discourse.net from a beastiality porn site to some boring old law professor's musings? I want my man-dog sex site back!
:)
Posted by: paul lukasiak at April 17, 2005 08:46 PMHere are the numbers currently on my list:
61.11.26.142 (India)
61.218.101.215 (Taiwan)
62.0.13.2 (Israel)
62.193.231.241 (France)
62.193.231.242 (France)
62.194.128.227 (Netherlands)
66.237.84.20 (XO Communications, Provo [Utah, USA?])
148.244.150.58 (Mexico)
168.12.253.66 (U. Georgia )
193.251.137.13 (Central African Republic -- claims to be from the US "Ambassy")
200.35.81.254 (Venezuela)
200.67.149.183 (Mexico)
200.77.204.248 (Mexico)
201.224.75.198 (Panama)
201.241.59.17 (Chile)
202.29.136.140 (Thailand)
203.172.255.253 (Thailand - ministry of education - a school or university, maybe?)
205.150.199.114 (Travelnet communications, inc.)
207.248.240.118 (Mexico)
207.248.240.119 (Mexico)
211.50.220.12 (S. Korea)
211.126.196.172 (Japan)
211.184.42.62 (S. Korea)
211.185.59.122 (S. Korea)
212.141.90.195 (Italy)
213.37.79.254 (Spain)
221.200.154.51 (China)
222.151.61.194 (Japan)
I've removed the following in case they were causing Kevin's problem:
67.166.37.63 (Comcast)
67.171.208.255 (Comcast)
68.89.20.132 (SBC Internet Services - Southwest)
69.151.110.55 (SBC again)
But I'll have to put them back on if it starts again.
Yes, I know this is a stupid way to proceed, but the site is getting hammered by spam every night, and not only does it take time to kill, but my hosting contract is high bandwidth but quite a low share of processing time at any given moment. So the processing required by mt-blacklist to block all this stuff pretty much locks up the site which makes it slow to load and makes comments crash. And rebuilding the site to erase the spam keeps failing if I try to do it during an ongoing attack.
Yes, I should upgrade or change to wordpress. In my copious spare time, of course.
Posted by: michael at April 17, 2005 09:57 PMYou can probably add the SBC IPs back, as the others did the trick.
Posted by: Kevin Hayden at April 18, 2005 05:44 AMMight I respectfully suggest that Avatar Froomkin seek new lodgings in orientation island?
http://secondlife.com/