I Am a ‘Joe-Job’ Victim

A spammer is forging my address in the 'from' line of his spam. As a result, my email address is being blacklisted in some places, and I've received about a thousand bounce messages in the last hour.

For the life of me, I can't think what to do about it….

Update: From a first look, the mail is coming from (for which there is no meaningful whois contact data) and it's advertising a web site owned by this owner:

Domain ID:D9457357-LRMS
Created On:22-Jan-2005 14:49:19 UTC
Last Updated On:22-Jan-2005 17:02:21 UTC
Expiration Date:22-Jan-2006 14:49:19 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R139-LRMS
Registrant ID:C8594388-LRMS
Registrant Name:Ms. Alexandrina Sirakova
Registrant Organization:V+D Auto GmbH
Registrant Street1:Postfach 25 Sofia
Registrant City:Sofia
Registrant State/Province:na
Registrant Postal Code:BG-1407
Registrant Country:BG
Registrant Phone:+3.5928614244
Registrant FAX:+3.5928614244
Registrant Email:lora_2005@inorbit.com
Admin ID:C8594388-LRMS
Admin Name:Ms. Alexandrina Sirakova
Admin Organization:V+D Auto GmbH
Admin Street1:Postfach 25 Sofia
Admin City:Sofia
Admin State/Province:na
Admin Postal Code:BG-1407
Admin Country:BG
Admin Phone:+3.5928614244
Admin Email:lora_2005@inorbit.com
Billing ID:C8594388-LRMS
Billing Name:Ms. Alexandrina Sirakova
Billing Organization:V+D Auto GmbH
Billing Street1:Postfach 25 Sofia
Billing City:Sofia
Billing State/Province:na
Billing Postal Code:BG-1407
Billing Country:BG
Billing Phone:+3.5928614244
Billing Email:lora_2005@inorbit.com
Tech ID:C8594388-LRMS
Tech Name:Ms. Alexandrina Sirakova
Tech Organization:V+D Auto GmbH
Tech Street1:Postfach 25 Sofia
Tech City:Sofia
Tech State/Province:na
Tech Postal Code:BG-1407
Tech Country:BG
Tech Phone:+3.5928614244
Tech Email:lora_2005@inorbit.com

But that doesn't really help much…

Second Update: the flood has stopped, or something upstream of me has stopped it.

Third update: Not. Getting. Any. Mail.

Fourth update (@ 11:30pm, which is to say several hours later): New mail is now getting through. No idea what happend to any mail sent in last four hours or so except that I didn't get it.

This entry was posted in Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Am a ‘Joe-Job’ Victim

  1. Aaron Williams says:

    I also was a Joe-job target of this spammer. The spammer is E.V.A Pharmaceutics. I have not been able to obtain any credible contact information yet. I too have received hundreds of bounces from this spammer. BTW, I found your site by doing a google search on lora_2005 who is listed in the whois info.

  2. Paul says:

    There is a `real’ “V & D Auto” in Sofia, but the are unconnected to that registration. The previous poster
    was correct with his comment about “E.V.A Pharmaceutics” – they use many fraudulent registrations and as
    you know, forge the headers. The most recent siting is “goodwebmeds.info” – same false registration data,
    headers from some poor schmoo “buster (at) dbzmail.com” whose account has already been suspended.

    Reference to `real’ company: http://www.vdauto.com

    P.S. “Joe Job” refers to when they want to atck you personally for a reason (the original was “joe.com”),
    not when they pick you at random (as has happened to me also).

  3. John Smith says:

    triamed.biz offers something similar too. They also are “Copyrighted E.V.A. Pharmaceutics”.
    At first, I thought it was a real website, well done and with all the pages complete… Anyway, a Google Search “E.V.A. Pharmaceutics” brought me here.

Comments are closed.