I've banned IP address 62.213.67.122 from posting to discourse.net after deleting a handful of Dadaist-seeming comments (e.g. “'Of course' is the cyanide of the mind”) none of which were objectionable in themselves, but all of which linked the plausible author names to sex sites. If this banning action causes any legit users pain, I hope they send me email so I can reconsider. I don't think the ban applies to email, just posting.
-
A Personal Blog
by Michael Froomkin
Laurie Silvers & Mitchell Rubenstein Distinguished Professor of Law
University of Miami School of Law
My Publications | e-mail
-
Overcast
73°F
-
Fri

77/67
-
Sat

76/56
-
Sun

72/58
-
Overcast
73°F
-
Who Reads Discourse.net?
Readers describe themselves.
Please join in.
Unique Homepage Views:
Sitemeter count:
Feed 1
Feed 2
Recent Comments
- Just me: Is it really a private transaction when states like our own fair Florida require you to have auto insurance?...
- Vic: I don’t understand what it wants me to DO? Bail out the REST of faltering America like we did Chrysler?...
- Michael Froomkin: AFAIK, all the ones around here are fixed, well-signed, and thus to some extent avoidable; the...
- i-celebes: Great Commercials…!!!
- Just me: We already use them right here in S.Fla. The 878 and 874 have recently installed toll booths with no cash...

That guy is spamming my blog from exactly the same IP address. I was too lazy to ban that address until now, since I assumed that he would change his IP address frequently and banning one IP number would not achieve anything. Maybe I’ll reconsider when I find his next series of spam comments with still the same address.
You can get rid of comment spam forever by installing MT-Blacklist. Here’s a link:
http://rhetorica.net/blogspam.htm
Been there, done that. Installed it a long time ago. These either pre-dated it, or got through it…